Sustainable Transport Stars Awarded To Local Primary Schools

Sustainable Transport Stars Awarded To Local Primary Schools
Sustainable Transport Stars Awarded To Local Primary Schools

Schools across the East Riding were represented at a ceremony which celebrated their success in supporting cycling, walking and other forms of sustainable travel.

The schools were presented with certificates and plaques in recognition of their work towards the Modeshift STARS national schools awards scheme.

They received either silver or gold awards to reflect their progress through the accreditation, at a ceremony in County Hall in hosted by East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s road safety team.

The STARS (Sustainable Travel Accreditation and Recognition for Schools) scheme encourages schools across the country to join in a major effort to increase levels of sustainable and active travel in order to improve the health and wellbeing of children and young people.

The successful schools have all demonstrated an improvement in the way in which children travel to school, whether it is by walking, cycling, scooting or other sustainable means.

The awards were presented by Councillor , portfolio holder for planning, highways and transportation, and Nick Butler, national Modeshift STARS manager.

Councillor Burton said:

“We all know that walking or cycling is good for your health and better for the environment than jumping into a car. The awards are a welcome recognition of the effectiveness of persuading pupils to choose greener and healthier ways of getting to and from school.”

The East Riding schools which achieved the Modeshift STARS accreditation in this latest round are:-

Gold awards – Keyingham Primary School, Howden Infant School, Boothferry Primary School, Cherry Burton Primary School, Marshlands Primary School, Beverley St Nicholas Primary School, Woodmansey Primary School, Leconfield Primary School, Barmby Moor Primary School, St Mary and St Joseph Primary School (Pocklington), Mount Pleasant Junior School (), Flamborough Primary School, Hilderthorpe Primary School (Bridlington), Hutton Cranswick Primary School, Bay Primary School (Bridlington), Hedon Primary School and New Pasture Lane Primary School (Bridlington).

Silver awards – Airmyn Park Primary School, Pocklington Junior School, St Joseph’s Primary School (Goole), Molescroft Primary School, South Cave Primary School, Parkside Primary School (Goole), St Mary’s Primary School (Market Weighton) and Driffield Junior School.

More From

Click Here
Extra 1,300 Extra Laptops And Tablets For East Riding Pupils Welcomed By MP


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *