Clean Sweep For Beverley AC At JSR College Canter

Clean Sweep For Beverley AC At JSR College Canter Clean Sweep For Beverley AC At JSR College Canter

It was a clean sweep for Beverley AC athletes at last weekend’s JSR College Canter cross country races, held at Bishop Burton College.

Organised by Beverley AC and sponsored by JSR Farms Ltd, there is a choice of 7 and 3 mile races on a mainly grass course which undulates throughout and includes some short steep climbs, making these events a challenge for all participants. The club provided the winners of the longer men’s and women’s race, and also the first boy and girl in the 3 miler.

In the men’s 7 mile race it was a 1, 2, 3 for Beverley. New member Timmy Davies finished in a race record time of 41:29. He was followed by Lee Phipps in 43:32 and Lewis Holloway in 44:42. and Jim McGivern, both of Beverley AC, fought it out for the V50 age group prize, with Dalton coming in just a few seconds ahead in 47:34. Matthew Horrocks, also of Beverley AC, was first V40 runner, in 48:49.

Carla Stansfield was clear winner of the women’s race. Coming fourth overall she recorded a time of 46:12, ahead of Ellen Harrison (Bristol and West AC) in 48:17 and Cathy Wood (Bridlington RR) in 48:44.

There were 129 finishers altogether, with Beverley AC fielding 26 men and women across the different age groups.

In the 3 mile race, Beverley AC’s junior members performed admirably, making up about half of the 40 finishers. Edward Prew was the winner, finishing in an impressive 18:45. Becky Briggs was the first girl to finish, crossing the line in 19:19.

This is the second year for these races, and following the success of last year’s inaugural events the numbers of participants in both events had increased. After running in hot and humid conditions, finishers were rewarded with bottles of specially labelled Wold Top beer.

Beverley AC would like to thank event sponsor JSR, Bishop Burton College for allowing use of their facilities, Wold Top Brewery, and Jorvik Rosettes for their bespoke mementos. Finally the many Beverley AC members who marshalled on the day, many runners commented how their encouragement helped them around the course.

Click Here
Fly-Tippers Fined £800 For Offences Near Beverley And Market Weighton

The club is already planning to repeat the race next year, with the event due to take place on Sunday 27th September.

Beverley AC times (7 miles): Timmy Davies 41:29; Lee Phipps 43:32; Lewis Holloway 44:42; Carla Stansfield 46:12; Mark Dalton 47:34; Jim McGivern 47:43; Matthew Horrocks 48:49; Darren Edge 50:21; Paul Clark 50:31; Philip Savage 52:47; Graeme Pittaway 53:27; Curtis Arnott 54:57; Sandy Milson 55:45; Edward Lisney 57:22; William Grieve 62:42; Adrian Holland 63:39; Neil Sergeant 63:47; 64:29; Mark Wilson 64:39; Allison Stabler 65:31; Colin Taylor 66:59; Frank Harrison 79:21; Sarah Tock 79:13; Penny Booth 82:01; Kay Farrow 83:47; Dayna Arnott 85:40

Beverley AC times (3 miles): Edward Prew 18:45; Becky Briggs 19:19; Oliver Douglas 20:38; Jonathan Dennison 21:05; Taylor Arnott 21:41; Laura Duncan 21:52; Isabelle Horrocks 23:04; Eleanor Boyd 23:16; Aidan Glover 23:36; Kelly Dawson 24:21; Guy Harbidge 24:42; Chloe Broadbent 24:46; Erin Glover 26:04; 26:15; Margaret Boyd 27:21; Francesca Brittain 27:35; Christopher Jeffs 28:23; Jordan Peacock 30:16; Kaycee-Faye Render 30:44; Jessyca Tew 30:47; Emily Peacock 31:11;

More From .net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *