Beverley’s Carla Stansfield Is Quickest Woman At Bishop Wilton

Beverley's Carla Stansfield Is Quickest Woman At Bishop Wilton

’s Carla Stansfield was the fastest woman in the first race in the 2014/2015 East Yorkshire Cross Country series, held last Sunday at Bishop Wilton.

Beverley’s male and female teams both secured second place in the league too, with two men in the top ten finishing group in the race overall, and two women in the top ten female finishers.

The race covers a demanding and hilly six miles, heading steeply upwards on to the Wolds from the village, and ending with a steep and fast descent to the finish line. In excellent autumnal conditions for cross country running, Beverley AC was very well represented with 32 runners overall, in a field of 138 athletes representing 8 clubs from Hull and East Yorkshire.

Stansfield was third finisher for Beverley and 11th overall in the race, completing the course in 40:59. Her team mate Ellen Harrison was second woman across the line, in 44:01. Their third team member was Tanwen Gray, recording 57:33.

In the men’s race, new member Lee Phipps was Beverley’s first runner, finishing in an excellent third place overall in 38:50.

This is his first time running in the league and he will clearly add some strength to the team in the series of 6 races. Lewis Holloway also took a top ten place, recording 39:44 to finish 8th. He was followed by Darren Rodmell in 41:13, with Phil Savage, Jim McGivern and Darren Edge completing the 6 man team in 42:10; 42:54 and 43:07 respectively. The race was won by Danny Derose (Goole VS), who took 37:55 to complete the challenging route. City of Hull AC’s men and women are currently in the lead in the team events.

The next race in the series is run by Beverley AC, and takes place on Sunday 9th November at Drewton Woods.

On the same day, two Beverley AC athletes also completed the . Aubrey Morrell was an impressive third overall, taking 2:49:35. His team mate Neil Bant recorded 3:56:40, taking 96th place.

Beverley AC finishing times at Bishop Wilton: Lee Phipps 38:50; Lewis Holloway 39:44; Carla Stansfield 40:59; Darren Rodmell 41:13; Phil Savage 42:10; Jim McGivern 42:54; Darren Edge 43:07; Ellen Harrison 44:01; Ethan Dalton 44:46; Steve Evins 45:59; Dave Millson 47:00; Dave Morrison 47:05; Paul Clark 47:06; Andy Johnson 48:13; Andy Collinson 49:17; Paul Furness 49:21; 50:26; Roy Steele 51:10; Peter Watkinson 51:24; Edward Lisney 53:20; Ade Holland 55:21; Tanwen Gray 57:33; Francesca Giuntini 59:14; Liz Gray 59:56; Mark Oglesby 60:02; Carrie Smith 64:24; 64:27; 65:38; Steve Hadley 66:32; John Boardley 71:31; Sarah Tock 72:52; Kay Farrow 72:59

Report by Lewis Holloway of Beverley AC

More From

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *