Beverley AC Enjoy Good Weekend At Snake Lane

Beverley AC Enjoy Good Weekend At Snake Lane

A good turnout of fourteen Beverley Athletic Club runners were among nearly 1000 athletes completing last Sunday’s Snake Lane 10 mile road race.

This very popular race, organised by Pocklington Runners, draws a high quality field of athletes from across Yorkshire and beyond. It follows a winding course along undulating country lanes north of Pocklington through the villages of Meltonby, Bishop Wilton, Bolton and Yapham.

Conditions were cold and windy, although the forecast rain held off until the race had finished.

Beverley’s fastest runner on the day was Lewis Holloway, who clocked 59:29 to come in 35th place overall, and taking the 3rd prize for his V45 age group. He was followed by , who is using the race as part of his preparation for the London Marathon, and was 65th in 1:01:32, and Steve Ostler who was 157th in 1:03:10.

Andrew Johnson, who finished in 1:06:07, was well over a minute faster than the previous year, while Edward Lisney and Mark Sykes-Cook finished very close together in 1:11:51 and 1:11:59 respectively.

Four Beverley women completed the race. They were led in by Laura Egan, who crossed the line in 1:14:09. finished the race in 1:33:33, Pam Atkins in 1:36:58 and Sarah Tock in 1:51:18.

The overall winner of the men’s race was Russ Best (New Marske Harriers AC), who completed the course in a very fast 51:14.

The quickest female runner was Shona Fletcher of Richmond and Zetland Harriers, who clocked 1:00:30.

Beverley AC is looking forward to hosting the one-off Minster Way on Sunday 1st March, starting at 10.00. The race is now full, and participants can check the final details on the Beverley AC website.

Click Here
Boom Time In Beverley As Girls Go For Goal

This race is organised by Beverley Athletic Club in partnership with East Riding of Yorkshire Council and sponsors Balfour Beatty, Morrisons and Strawberry and will start at the new roundabout at the Western end of the new Minster Way bypass.

The route will take runners along the whole stretch of the new road, over Long Lane and the railway line, towards a turnaround point near the A1174 at the eastern end. They will then return on the other side of the road to the finish line near to where they started.

Beverley AC finishing times: Lewis Holloway 59:29; Darren Rodmell 1:01:32; Steve Ostler 1:03:10; Andrew Johnson 1:06:07; Edward Lisney 1:11:51; Mark Sykes-Cook 1:11:59; 1:14:19; Laura Egan 1:14:09; Chris Peach 1:14:48; 1:30:40; Lucy Stamford 1:33:33; James Durham 1:34:55; Pam Atkins 1:36:58; Sarah Tock 1:51:18

Report by Lewis Holloway

More From

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *