Beverley AC Athletes Win Age Group Prizes At Humber Bridge 10K

Beverley AC Athletes Win Age Group Prizes At Humber Bridge 10K

Beverley Athletic Club’s runners scooped age group prizes in last Sunday’s Humber Bridge 10k road race. Run by City of Hull AC, this is a well-established and popular race which has been growing for the last few years.

It starts from Hessle Rugby club, crosses the Humber Bridge to Barton upon Humber and then returns to Hessle. This year, 356 runners completed the course, including 32 Beverley AC representatives. This year’s race was held in hot conditions, with the lack of any breeze, even going over the Humber Bridge, making it a tough race for all competitors.

Sam Allen and Jayne Dale won prizes in their respective age groups. Allen was first in the FV40 group, recording a time of 44:57, while Dale led the FV50 group with a time of 47:30. The pair were also the first of Beverley’s women to finish the race. Third was Mariana Barbera, who took 51:58 to get around the course.

The first three Beverley AC men to finish were Harry Powell, who recorded 36:11, Lee Phipps in 36:47, and in 38:04. Dalton was first in the V50 age group. Darren Edge, clocking 38:16, was second in the V45 age group.

Several Beverley runners were pleased to record personal best times for the 10k distance. Edward Lisney achieved 46:39, saying that this meant ‘beating my previous 10k time by 2 minutes 44 seconds. I had been battling a cold for the previous week so am really happy with my time’.

Mark Sykes-Cook recorded 43:33, taking a remarkable five minutes and fifty seconds from his previous 10k time, as a result of more sustained training.

Click Here
Selby Pile On The Points As They Are Too Strong For Beverley

The race was won by Alec Gibson (East Hull Harriers) in 34:08. The women’s race was led by Charlotte Ward (City of Hull AC) who recorded a time of 39:19.

Beverley AC finishing times:
Harry Powell 36:11; Lee Phipps 36:47; Mark Dalton 38:04; Darren Edge 38:16; Andrew Johnson 38:40; Mark Dawson 40:00; Matthew Horrocks 40:13; Rob Gray 41:26; Chris Dunn 43:25; Mark Sykes-Cook 43:33; Steve Evins 43:48; Ethan Dalton 44:09; Andrew Garrett 44:34; James Durham 44:40; Samantha Allen 44:57; Edward Lisney 46:39; Michael Anderson 47:24; Jayne Dale 47:30; Michael Ashcroft 50:53; 50:59; Mariana Barbera 51:58; Helen Storr 52:23; Alison Stabler 55:52; Ruth Maltby 56:43; Fiona Holland 57:33; Christine Whitehouse 59:08; Victoria Evins 61:28; 63:14; Lynne Stabler 63:55; Sarah Tock 64:56; Caitriona Williamson 65:00; Penny Booth 66:40

More From

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *